I’ve lost it.

I started my Master’s degree online via Keller Graduate School of management. I’ve got three books going. My kids have been sick. Long story short I’ve got no time for recreational writing. I totally lost track of my musical exploration. I’ve tried to get back on track but have only listened to some repeats. I listened to Blue’s Traveler’s “Four” again. Still a great fucking album. I really need to get some more music but I haven’t bought anything recently.

The last album I listened to in full was today with The Foo Fighters’ album “In Your Honor.” The first half of the album (the rock part) was good but the second part (the all acoustic) just plain sucks. I’m not sure where they were coming from when they wrote it, but no. I like an occasional acoustic jam on an album but all the songs on that album just did not do it for me.

I also found another band that I will probably never listen to in full again. Cake. I like their songs occasionally but they are really quite intolerable to listen to for a full album. I finally just gave a really good full listen to Megadeth’s first album and I’m really glad they moved in the direction they did. It must have been really hard to get out of the shadow of Metallica but I think eventually Dave Mustaine has won that war by attrition. The last five Megadeth albums (I think it has been five since “Risk”) have been awesome. In that same amount of time Metallica have just been awful, just plain awful. But I really need to get “Death Magnetic” and try to give it a fair shake. I got a bootleg copy of the album, because you know fuck them, but the copies are horrible and I need to hear the final masters of the songs.

I recently tried to start a fight with my internet service provider because I found out that the wireless router they gave me was broadcasting a separate free SSID to other customers that use their service. I thought it was bullshit, I tried to get them to disable the free shit but they said they couldn’t do it. Just know that if you have Optimum internet and they gave you a router that you are providing free wireless internet access to other Optimum customers on your home network. I couldn’t take that shot without my consent. Nope.

Later.

~ by nilentropy on January 28, 2014.

Leave a comment