This is my year

I’m a horse and I turn 36 this year. It’s my year. And I am loving life right now. I love music so much right now, music past and music present. I just bought the “Night Visions” album from Imagine Dragons. It’s been very rare that I’ve liked so many tracks from an album that I’ve heard off the radio, but it has been happening a lot recently. There is so much good new music lately, it’s astonishing. I really like ” The Mother We Share” from Crvrches, but I want to hear another few songs before I buy their album. Vampire Weekend, Alex Clare, and so many others I can’t think of at the moment. And I’d like to hear more from Passion Pit but I haven’t gotten any recommendations from friends if they are any good besides the one song I’ve heard on the radio. Please comment.

Any way, to continue from where I left off with my last post… Another band I have been listening to a lot recently is Incubus. Their lyrics also tend to be about “her” but I find the music has such a high quality and I like the singer’s voice that it doesn’t bother me that the lyrics tend to be sometimes generic. They have a really prolific guitar that uses some very interesting modes in his playing.

I’ve been avoiding it for a while now, I said I would post some of my earlier writing and some poems from Ross, but not yet. Soon. I promise. I wanted to talk a little more on my musical explorations and falling I love again with music.

I think growing up with a band and really loving them makes you have really high expectations. I said before about how Alice In Chains was my favorite band as a teen and I was kind of disappointed when they reformed after Layne died and put out “Black Gives Way to Blue.” I can now appreciate the album better after putting away my judgement, preconceptions, and past love of them but I think I can also pinpoint why I dismissed that album. I wish they had really replaced Layne, but they didn’t. They took on William but Jerry took over as main singer and William just seemed to come on as a backup to Jerry. They really should have sought out a new unique voice that could fill Layne’s shoes. Layne was one of the most unique and talented voices in grunge rock. They should have at least tried to find someone as gifted as he was. It’s been 12 years, but still… Rest in peace Layne Staley.

~ by nilentropy on February 5, 2014.

One Response to “This is my year”

  1. They will never find another as talented as Layne. But it would be wishful thinking…

Leave a comment