It was inevitable

If you’ve read me before you probably knew it was coming. I was getting back into music heavily. As you might remember Pantera saved my life. About a year ago I made the trip I am about to undertake for a second time. The long journey to Charleston, South Carolina for the holidays. Last time I drove back I had a marathon of Pantera and the blistering metal kept me going for the twelve hour car drive. It was inevitable that as I got back into more music this year that I would seek out more metal.

This year I started making a habit of learning more about the bands I was listening to. While not the most reputable site on the Internet, I still find Wikipedia to at least be a good quick and dirty place to get some information on a band. So I was reading and I was expanding on my music and then I started getting curious about genres and started reading those articles and you can see where things get to that slippery slope that people seem to talk about. Is that in reference to a landslide? That is what I think of when I hear that phrase and what it seems to symbolize to most people.

I wanted to hear something that sounded like what I used to love and what I now miss with the bands that just don’t produce anymore. Maybe that isn’t an accurate statement. I really love System Of A Down and the dynamic of their two very distinct singers. Serj has an almost operatic voice and Darren has a very nasally voice. I just love that contrast, it’s why I love Mesmerize and Hypnotize so much. They both have great vocals on that album and it is such a great ride from start to finish. If you call yourself a System fan but shun that record then fuck you. They are in top form as songwriters on that album and fuck you again.

Where was I? Oh yeah. Metal. I think I did a Google search for metal bands with two singers and it led me to some forum where I saw a few band names. I found The Arusha Accords. Great fucking music. I realized that it wasn’t really about singers all the time for me anymore. I hardly ever pay attention to lyrics as much as I used to when I was a teenager. The music really is what got me pumped. As I’ve said it before, I’m a guitar guy. Around the same time as all this reading about music and searching my sister posts a video for BABYMETAL on Facebook and I was curious, so I watched. Holy shit I was blown away! I got that album and had to stop myself from overplaying it. Besides what they do there I realized I needed some heavy metal. More reading, deeper searches. Long story short (too late) I have been getting into the really heavy world of technical, mathcore, progressive, djent, and whatever other labels fans or bands themselves give to the genres that they want, or ramble bumble fuck, I can’t express myself I am too fucking excited about music.

I know I have only scratched the surface. Here is what I’ve gotten myself into:
The Dillinger Escape Plan
Obscura
Gridlink
Necrophagist
Nevermore
Between The Buried And Me
Arch Enemy
Brain Drill
Gojira
Knights Of The Abyss

Spotify is a wonderful thing.

As well as some classics I hadn’t checked out until recently:
Slayer
Dio
Lamb Of God

On my list to check out soon:
Cannibal Corpse
Iron Maiden

I know, I know, like I said before I am only scratching the surface and my metal education is lacking but I will get there…

~ by nilentropy on December 18, 2014.

Leave a comment